Liability Car Insurance Coverage, your state minimum, helps cover the potential costs of other driver’s property and bodily injury if you’re found at fault in a car accident.If you own and operate a car in the United States, you’ll need car insurance, and each state will have their minimum insurance requirements.

Liability car insurance is the minimum car insurance required in every state except New Hampshire, although while not explicitly required by law, even New Hampshire requires you show proof of financial responsibility if you’re ever in an accident.

The requirement to carry at least the minimum liability car insurance will provide protection to other drivers by requiring your insurance provider to cover the costs for the other driver’s damaged car, less your deductible and up to your limits of coverage.

Before we go over the state required minimum car insurance for each state let’s look at a few things:

 

  • What Does Auto Liability Insurance Cover?
  • Understanding Auto Liability Insurance Limits
  • Minimum Liability Limits
  • Are Minimum State Insurance Requirements Enough Auto Insurance Coverage?

Never Worry About Paying Your Deductible Again.

Click the Banner Below to LEARN MORE.

What Does Auto Liability Insurance Cover?

 

In most states the two main components of Auto Liability Insurance which will be required are Bodily Injury (BI) and Property Damage Liability.

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage pays for any damage you cause to another driver, their passengers and any property such as the other driver’s vehicle. This coverage also applies to any motorcyclist, bicyclist or pedestrian you may harm with your vehicle. Auto insurance policy terms will vary, but generally Bodily Injury (BI) will cover up to your policy limits for the following:

  • Medical Expenses of an injured party
  • Funeral Expenses of a Fatality
  • Loss of Income
  • Pain and Suffering

The Property Damage Liability Insurance will cover damage to another person’s property from an auto accident in which you are at fault. A few examples of property which may be potentially damaged are:

  • Vehicles
  • Fences
  • Buildings
  • Fire Hydrants
  • Poles
  • Landscape

Liability Car Insurance will also cover your legal defense in the event you’re ever sued due to an accident you may cause.

Understanding Auto Liability Insurance Limits.

 

Liability Auto Insurance is broken down into three amounts which are the limits of coverage and are usually expressed as a series of numbers, such as 25/50/25.

These numbers represent the per person limit for bodily injury, per incident limit for bodily injury, and the property damage limit.

In the example above, 25/50/25, the limits would be:

$25,000 per person for bodily injury,

$50,000 per incident for bodily injury,

$25,000 per incident for property damage.

Bodily injury maximum limits per incident are always higher than property damage since medical bills tend to add up much quicker than property damage expenses.

Minimum Liability Limits.

 

Liability Insurance comes with it’s limits that you choose when purchasing a policy, however, the minimum required will vary from state to state.

In addition to Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability, some states will require you to purchase other types of coverages in order to meet the state minimum car insurance requirements. These additional coverages vary from state to state but may include:

  • Uninsured and/or Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
  • Uninsured and/or Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Medical Payments (MedPay)

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverages:

UM/UIM are required in close to half of the states and these coverages help with the cost of injuries to you or your passengers if you’re ever involved in an auto accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.

A few states will include uninsured and/or underinsured property damage coverage to help cover the cost of damages to your property caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.

The limits of these coverages are often very similar if not identical to that state’s liability insurance limits.

Personal Injury Protection:

Personal Injury Protection or (PIP) covers medical expenses for the insured and their passengers if they’re ever in an accident regardless of fault.

PIP may include limits for Medical Expenses, Disability or Loss of Income, In-Home Services, Rehabilitation, and even Funeral Burial Costs not covered by your health insurance.

Roughly 20% of states require PIP and is often associated with “no fault” states, however the policy wording will vary from state to state depending on that state’s minimum requirements.

Medical Payments Coverage:

Medical Payments Coverage or (MedPay) covers medical payments similar to PIP, however, unlike PIP it does not cover additional expenses that may arise such as lost wages.

While most MedPay limits are relatively small compared to the overall costs of most medical expenses it can prove useful if you have high health insurance deductibles.

 

Are Minimum State Requirements Enough Auto Insurance Coverage?

 

The quick answer…It depends.

I know that’s not exactly what you were looking for but that’s where a knowledgeable licensed insurance broker or agent can really help you decide what coverage limits you need.

How much risk are you willing to take?

What assets do you have that could potentially be jeopardized in the event a lawsuit arises after an accident in which you were at fault?

If you don’t have enough car insurance to cover damages caused to people or property when you have an accident, you’ll be liable to pay for those damages from your personal assets.

You may think that not having cash or assets means you don’t need the additional protection offered by increasing your limits, but you’d be wrong.

Your future earnings could be affected in the form of wage garnishments from a lawsuit after an accident you cause.

Why take the risk?

Carrying only your state’s minimum car insurance requirements may be all that you NEED to drive legally however it is not the best choice.

When purchasing your car insurance, consider common additional coverages such as comprehensive and collision coverage. These add-ons will help with many other common occurrences such as collision with an object, theft, etc.

You can learn all about these two common coverage options by clicking here for collision and here for comprehensive.

Additionally, you can avoid your out-of-pocket deductible expenses by enrolling in the Deductible Relief Program which will pay your deductible expenses up to a fixed annual amount.

 

The cost of this program can be virtually eliminated if you manage your coverages properly and your insurance broker or agent can assist you in choosing the right plan to meet your needs.

Ultimately how much insurance you choose to carry is your personal financial decision so long as you meet the State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements.

To help you find your State’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements we’ve compiled a list for you:

StateMinimum Reqirements
Alabama$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Alaska$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$100,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liablility Per Accident
Arizona$15,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property DamageLiability Per Accident
California$15,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$5,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Colorado$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Connecticut$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Delaware$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person*
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident*
$15,000 PIP Per Person
$30,000 PIP Per Accident
*These Coverages May Be Rejected In Writing
District of$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
Columbia$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$5,000 UM Property Damage Per Accident
Florida$10,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$20,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$10,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$20,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$10,000 Personal Injury Protection
Georgia$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Hawaii$20,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$40,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$10,000 Personal Injury Protection
Idaho$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Illinois$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Indiana$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Iowa$20,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$40,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Kansas$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$4,500 Personal Injury Protection
Kentucky$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$10,000 Personal Injury Protection
Louisiana$15,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Maine$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$100,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$100,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$2,000 MedPay
Maryland$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$60,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$30,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$60,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$15,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
Massachusetts$20,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$40,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$5,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$20,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$40,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$8,000 Personal Injury Protection
Michigan$20,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$40,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Unlimited Personal Injury Protection
$1,000,000 Property Protection
Minnesota$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$60,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$40,000 Personal Injury Protection
Mississippi$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Missouri$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Montana$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Nebraska$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Nevada$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
New Hampshire*$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$1,000 MedPay
*Minimum only if driver purchases insurance, which
is optional as state only requires proof of
financial responsibility
New Jersey$15,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$5,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$15,000 Personal Injury Protection
New Mexico$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
New York$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$50,000 Liability for Death Per Person
$100,000 Liability for Death Per Accident
$50,000 Personal Injury Protection
North Carolina$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$60,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$30,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$60,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
North Dakota$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$30,000 Personal Injury Protection
Ohio$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Oklahoma$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Oregon$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$15,000 Personal Injury Protection
Pennsylvania$15,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$5,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$5,000 MedPay
Rhode Island$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
South Carolina$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
South Dakota$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Tennessee$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Texas$30,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$60,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
Utah$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$65,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$15,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$3,000 Personal Injury Protection
Vermont$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$100,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$10,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
Virginia$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$20,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
Washington$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
West Virginia$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Property Damage Per Accident
Wisconsin$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$10,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident
$25,000 UM/UIM Per Person
$50,000 UM/UIM Per Accident
Wyoming$25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
$50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
$20,000 Property Damage Liability Per Accident

If you have any additional questions about your auto insurance coverage please leave a comment below.